Teachingartonthecheap's Blog

Filler Lessons

Posted on: November 10, 2009

At different points during the year certain classes will miss their art lesson due to school holidays, assemblies, field trips, etc.

Every so often I take a week to catch all the classes up so I don’t have some classes trailing behind, using materials I could have finished using and put away weeks ago.  During those weeks, I devise a broad filler lesson for the classes who are completely caught up, so we can expound on a topic we have already discussed during an earlier lesson.

I will write up the plans for the other 2 filler lessons I have used so far; the important thing is that they are easy to do (stress free for me) and can be applicable to a wide age range of students.

I will eventually cycle back around to these topics so all classes will have learned about, say, warm and cool colors at some point during the year, but approaching vocabulary and concepts several different ways never hurts.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

  • None
