Teachingartonthecheap's Blog

Hitting a wall (not literally)

Posted on: October 22, 2009

I work with the school’s afterschool program as a real, paid employee.  School plus afterschool sometimes ends up creating 9 hour days, which is a bit much for most people, myself included.  While the student response to art is still really positive, I feel myself lagging a little bit. I think when I get my afterschool classes on track a little more, then I will be back to a high level of teaching output, but feel like getting everything done is too much work right now.

I try and balance out lessons that teach a skill or are technique based with lessons that really let kids be creative with their subject matter. I think the balance is shifted more towards skill/technique, but I keep reminding myself that it’s the beginning of the year and we can always get super creative later, but it will be harder to rein the kids back in and try to develop technique once certain undesirable habits have set in.

One last goal: To document each lesson more to give people a better idea of what it looks like when I’m teaching and how to really bust out with reused materials.

Leave a Reply

  • None
